Skip to content

BOOM. Caught.

April 5, 2011

The wise Tankboy once told me that if you’re blogging anonymously, you must accept that someday, you will be caught.

And it’s true.

I’ve been caught over and over and over again.

When I first started the blog, I told my mom, a few of my close friends and all my female cousins. So that wasn’t a very strong start into anonymity. As the months passed, I went from anonymous to semi-anonymous to who-are-you-kidding.

This past weekend I advanced to the-jig-is-up.

That’s right! Now not only do most of my friends, family, coworkers and a strong contingent of people-I-don’t-actually-know read my blog, but so do Mister Me’s friends. (Hi Guys!!)

I suspected something was up when I saw a hit from Mister Me’s very small hometown. But then I got distracted, probably by wine, and just chalked it up to one very-alarming coincidence.

Turns out, nope, it was real. I’d been discovered. Months ago.**

Yeah, I almost wet myself.

You know that feeling when you drop your purse and out tumble your tampons and pocket rocket and secret pack of cigs for all to see? You just kind of look at the mess, all panic-stricken, debating whether to deny it or scoop it all up and run away.

That’s kinda what happened to my life.

I mean, I talk about stuff on here. Personal stuff like ex boyfriends and thigh reductions and my incessant need to eat tacos. I’m not pretty on here; I’m real.

When the news reached me, I was too many beers deep to execute on deleting the blog entirely.

Thank goodness, because you know what? Fuck it. This is where I’ve been talking to the world for a long time. And I don’t intend to stop just because a little more of the world is actually reading than I thought.

There’s nothing I would tell most of my friends, family, coworkers and a strong contingent of people-I-don’t-actually-know that I wouldn’t tell Mister Me’s friends. I just hadn’t gotten around to it yet.

Now that it’s all out on the open, I guess I can breathe a little easier. Here I am, uncensored and honest. Everyone knows what’s in my spilled purse now; no need to clean it out.

So… the more the merrier. Come, read, judge, drink. That’s what we do around here.

**Luckily for me, I took the high road with Mister Me on our second date. Not only does he know about the blog, he’s read most of the posts written since we started dating.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 6:07 am

    Hm, and how did these nosy people find out??? ;p Yay for sticking around!

  2. April 5, 2011 8:11 am

    “I’m not pretty on here; I’m real.”

    Frankly, I find that endearing.

    But most importantly, Mr Me knows the real you — online & off — and he loves you. That’s what matters.

  3. April 5, 2011 9:09 am

    I recall an old post where you cautioned an ex to realize that it’s a blog, which entails a bit of “flourish” for the sake of storytelling. I hope they understand that and appreciate your intent to entertain while informing.

    I think I speak for all of your readers when I type that nothing you have written comes across to your audience as disrespectful.

  4. April 5, 2011 9:50 am

    I think its so cute that Mister You reads your blog posts ;)
    AWE!
    we approve.

  5. April 5, 2011 11:05 am

    Mister Me’s better than DH. He still doesn’t read my blog regularly. I have to remind him.

  6. jessicainthenow permalink
    April 5, 2011 1:32 pm

    I once kept an annon blog that somehow had google search turned on. I wasn’t using fake names, and I was calling a guy i sorta liked a little fobby. years later he still makes comments. i wouldn’t have known, but a friend called me up and told me how awesome my blog was…how real it was. most embarrassing moment EVER. and i don’t even get embarrassed.

  7. KSwan permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:23 pm

    Big round of applause for handling this situation, which could have been taken as public shaming, with grace! Your wit and honesty are virtues, and we (and Mr. Me) know it :)

  8. April 5, 2011 9:29 pm

    I’ve toyed with making my blog 100 percent un-anonymous. All my friends know about it. My mom reads. People I wish wouldn’t probably do, too. But then I think about potential employers and my penchant to talk about how I want to make sweet, sweet love to Mary Poppins. So I remain far from anonymous, but just shy of slapping my social security number on the About Me page. Welcome to the club.

  9. April 6, 2011 1:56 pm

    I am scared for the day this happens to me.

  10. April 19, 2011 1:01 pm

    I admire your attitude about all this. It’s great that you have the confidence about yourself that you feel comfortable enough with people reading some of the more intimate details of your life. And of course, being able to share it with Mr. Me speaks volumes about your relationship.

    I was horrified with Mr. etiquette found out about mine, if you remember. Though it was more the way he found out about it and used it as a weapon.

    Only two of my friends know where to find my blog and occasionally read it. I have mentioned to many others that I have a “dating and relationship” blog, but I just leave it at that, no matter how much they beg to know more.

    It’s funny though: the guy I am just starting to date? I would actually consider letting into this world as I’m telling him TMI anyway. We have been extremely open and honest about ourselves, and I don’t think he’d be intimidated or horrified by anything I’ve written. We’ll see if he gets that honor. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Napa Time! « The Engagement Project

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers