Skip to content

Napa Time!

April 19, 2011

Tomorrow we leave for Napa.

Actually it’s basically today because Mister Me is one of those sadistic people who always wants to take the early flight to “make the most of the day.” Puke.

I keep explaining that I can’t be held accountable for my actions in the morning. He’s taking his life in his hands making me get up that early. But he can’t be deterred. Good bless him, he’s either incredibly brave or incredibly stupid.

We’ve been looking forward to this trip for months. Napa is one of the few places where post-college adults start drinking at 10am on weekdays and no one says “Bill’s having one of his episodes.” My kind of town.

Mister Me has taken vacation preparation to a whole new level. We have reservations all over San Francisco and Napa and a room with a private hot tub overlooking the vineyard. There are multiple spreadsheets, Google maps, itineraries and even a PowerPoint in play.

He’ll never be accused of under preparing.

Our trip of wine and luxury tiptoes on the heels of a week of extraordinarily good behavior.

We went to Alinea for dinner on Saturday, which is uncharacteristically fancy for a couple that could happily eat foil-wrapped tacos for three meals a day. There were twenty courses, y’all, twenty. Including one where they turned our table top into the toppings bar at Coldstone. (yeah, that’s me. I’m not anonymous anymore, remember?)

Then Sunday, Mister Me hid 35 Easter Eggs for me… because I am a child and still enjoy hunting eggs.

I’m proud to say I found them all with only a few warmer/colder hints and one “why don’t you look behind those blinds a little more carefully instead of running through the house like a sugar-crazed 5-year-old?” suggestion.

As is customary Easter tradition, Mister Me blew up a Peep in the microwave. And recorded it. Then tossed it’s lifeless body at the cat. Looks like I’m not the only 5-year-old in the house.

All this good behavior* has me a little jumpy…

*yes, I consider blowing up Peeps good behavior… or, at least, not bad behavior

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 12:46 pm

    Yay! Enjoy your trip full of amazing wine and day drinking. Can’t wait to hear all about it! ;)

  2. April 19, 2011 12:55 pm

    I’m completely jealous of your Napa time!! I want to drink at 10am and it be socially acceptable as an adult :) And yes, blowing up peeps is part of Easter, the best part for sure!

  3. BCubed permalink
    April 19, 2011 1:15 pm

    Have a great time!

  4. April 19, 2011 1:16 pm

    Woohoo blowing up Peeps! I’m really looking forward to going to Napa whenever my next relationship rolls my way. I’m SO giddy for your trip and can’t wait to hear all about it! ;)

    (P.S. Airport Boy & I are sadly over. He’s too immature to deal with a 3,000 mile LDR. Boo and NEXT! At least it makes a great story, lol.)

  5. April 19, 2011 1:43 pm

    Hope you have tons of fun :)

  6. Van Slammy permalink
    April 25, 2011 10:39 am

    Could you be getting ENGAGED, miss Bea!?

  7. Meredith permalink
    April 25, 2011 1:58 pm

    OMG!! I am not on twitter and I don’t know if I’ve ever commented before but OMG!! Congratulations!!!!

  8. Meredith permalink
    April 26, 2011 6:30 am

    and here is the best wedding blog. Ever. Not kidding. You can thank me later.

    apracticalwedding.com

  9. April 26, 2011 9:45 pm

    I think you need to be doing an engagement post missy. Since I’m pretty sure ALL of us guessed this. haha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers