Skip to content

Wednesday Weigh In

January 20, 2010

Blargh. Third week of the diet and there goes the honeymoon period of excitement and weight loss and general jubilance at the thought of the short shorts and bikinis and tubetops to come. The scale has made a mockery of me.

I may be overreacting a bit; I did still have downward movement this week, but it was nothing like the glorious 2.5 lbs of yesterweeks.

.6 lbs. Barely over a half a pound. Nothing like a minuscule weightloss to take the wind out of your sails. I found myself standing on the scale, in total denial, trying to figure out what outside force was creating this hallucination. Perhaps I’m wearing boots? Hmm, nope. Maybe I ate a huge breakfast? No, I’m starving. The gravity must be higher today… maybe…

Then I moved on to blame: It was that damned late night burrito on Saturday night. It was Friend A’s fault for suggesting that at 2am, how am I to say No to that? It is Roommate’s fault for buying Fig Newtons; I didn’t even have one, but… osmosis or something. Or Boss. Boss always wants to order lunch. He’s sabotaging me on purpose.

Then acceptance: OK, fine. It’s fine. Just fine. It doesn’t derail my plans. I just have to tighten up my resolve and give it another go. Not every week can be a huge win; now I can remember this feeling next time I’m tempted to head over to Chipotle at lunch time. Damned delicious burritos and the blanket of shame that follows. I am better than that!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Antijan permalink
    January 20, 2010 1:37 pm

    Check out this dieting blog by a really cool 20-something guy….

    http://truthaboutflab.blogspot.com

  2. January 20, 2010 2:08 pm

    Hey Awesome! I’ll add it to the blogroll. Maybe that handsome devil will start updating again…

  3. cyrae permalink
    January 20, 2010 8:05 pm

    hey – it’s me. Make a graph – that way you’ll be reminded visually of where you started and where you’ve gotten to. 6/10ths down is still down!

    • January 20, 2010 8:54 pm

      ooo! a graph! great idea! i’ll work one up for next week. it will probably take me that long anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

