Skip to content

Closing The Super Ex Chapter

February 1, 2010

Ever since my Super Ex crushed my world by rejecting me and then pissed me off by assuming everything was cool, I’ve been wrestling with the only question remaining: Can I be friends with this person?

Unfortunately, I’m thinking the answer is a big, fat No.

It took about two weeks of consideration to come to this conclusion. I was scared of the finality of this decision; scared it would actually stick and I’d regret it later.

I examined my motives: am I hoping that I’ll cut the friendship cord and it’ll force him to come to his senses? Yeah, maybe a little.

I examined the alternatives: take what I can get now and eventually watch him meet and fall in love with someone else. I deserve better than that. It’s time follow my own advice and lay this baby to rest so I can put my emotional effort into moving forward.

In the end, the hardest choice is the only one. It’s time to end this relationship, get closure and move on. The lack of closure is a big reason the Super Ex and I have been doing this dance for so many years. This time I want to do it right: Say our goodbyes and thank yous and close the chapter.

When I proposed this notion to Super Ex, he confirmed my decision as the right one with his simple reply, “OK.”

Then, and I’m not even kidding, he sent me a link.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 10:38 am

    I read this ages ago (when you first posted it) and was going back through the Super-ExFiles when I came across it again. I am kinda obsessed with that hedgehog picture. Something about hedgehogs and childrens toys together = ridiculously cute. Why? I have no idea.

Trackbacks

  1. The Freedom Of Goodbye « The Engagement Project

Leave a Reply

