Skip to content

Somebody, Please, Wire My Jaws Shut

February 10, 2010

You know those weeks when you just cannot get it to-freaking-gether? I’m having one of those. Actually, I guess at this point, I’m technically having two of those in a row.

Last week, I traveled for a few days for work. This ALWAYS derails me. Suddenly I have client dinners to attend, meals-on-the-go to grab and the general temptation of expense-able food and beverage. I immediately revert to starving college student in the face of free food and just start jamming everything down my throat.

Wouldn’t be such a large problem if it were just a few days every now and again. But my problem is, one three day trip and I fall off the wagon… and then it takes me weeks to claw my way back on.

I got home a week ago, but the binge has continued: bar food, cupcakes, burritos… Sunday night I came home after the Superbowl and ate nearly an entire wedge of cheese.

It’s so tempting when I’m off-track to just say, Eh, Forget it.

Last night, after a german chocolate cupcake (God help me), I brainstormed some things that might actually stop my feeding frenzy cold. I’m starting today.

1. Try on your clothes. Remind yourself of that inch you can still pinch. I always try on knee-high boots, for the main reason that they NEVER fit. My calves are like tree stumps – puts me right back into diet mode.

2. Go to the grocery store. There’s nothing to get you back to eating healthier (and cheaper!) at home like a trip to the grocery store. Do some meal planning first so you can pick up the right stuff.

3. Pay attention to intake! I stop thinking about what I’m eating, thus mentally allowing myself to binge. So I’m getting back to being strict about counting my points, or calories, or whatever.

4. Plan a night out. If you’re gonna wanna look your best on Friday night, it’ll be less tempting to scarf that cheeseburger on Tuesday.

5. Go to the gym! A little wheezing will scare you into healthier eating. Plus you’ll get to see yourself in workout gear.

Godspeed dieters, we travel a treacherous path.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cyrae permalink
    February 10, 2010 8:21 pm

    Where’s your personal trainer? Lost in the sound and fury of your past couple of weeks? Don’t let him down!

    • February 11, 2010 9:17 am

      oh dont you worry about Trainer. I still see him weekly. Although, he’s not a miracle worker, intake must be adjusted.

  2. Cousin Kitty-Cat permalink
    February 20, 2010 5:34 pm

    My beloved and I are both binge eaters, so I hear ya on this one. We were in Vegas last weekend with Mr Active brother-in-law and I’d-like-the-quatro-cheese-fries-but-I’ll-only-eat-five-of-them sister. It took me all week to get back on track.

Leave a Reply

