Skip to content

Work Will Not Destroy My Waistline

February 19, 2010

Recently someone (ok, it was my mom) was like, Hey, what happened to your eating and exercising themed posts? MooooOOOOoooommmmm, dating is more fun and more important.

This last week has been business hell. I’ve been working long hours, eating on the go and skipping the gym. I’ve been so busy at work that my personal life has been in triage mode. Dating has been totally dominating my personal time lately, at the expense of my workout regimen. It’s been a challenge to keep up the heat with Love Interest E and thank goodness I gave Irishman the heave-ho.

Being a business maven in real life gives me great pleasure; nothing like feeling successful and powerful in your own right. That, plus a semi-successful social life makes it all too easy to forget about a little contraption known as the scale.

Then, this morning, I saw Trainer. I also saw myself in spandex. It was a rude awakening. Trainer guessed, probably from the look on my face (shame), that I’d been skipping the gym lately. He really put me through my paces. Afterward, I was tired, I was sore, I was a little annoyed, and I was exhilarated.

If you haven’t been to the gym in a while, go. Sometimes jolting your system back into good habits can re-energize your commitment to healthy living. Maybe its the endorphins talking, but I’m ready to make it work now – ridiculous work hours or not, I’m hitting the gym several times a week from here on out. I refuse to let work dictate my pants size.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. cyrae permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:54 am

    You’re my role model!

    • February 19, 2010 11:09 am

      OK… but when I go all Brit-Brit and shave my head and start living off Caramel Macchiatos, don’t say I didn’t warn you!

  2. cyrae permalink
    February 19, 2010 12:10 pm

    Oka-a-a-y – maybe I’ll just stick to using your name for one of my passwords.

    As for that muffin – how about writing down how many points you’re SAVING by not eating it? Four or more, you can be sure, so plan on treating yourself to a 2-point reward later on!

Trackbacks

  1. Out Sales-ed « The Engagement Project

Leave a Reply

