Skip to content

Motivation Trifecta: Trainer, Vegas & Swimsuits

March 4, 2010

Why is it that when the going gets tough, the tough get doughy? I’ve been working like crazy at my real-life job. Long days, catered lunches, zero sleep, sugar substituted for happiness… you know the drill.

And you can just forget about hitting the gym. I’ve barely had the energy to shower in the morning. All I have energy for after work is ordering take-out and channel-surfing. I’ve been unable to bait myself into sweating off this stress and the eating that comes with it.

Here’s a run down of things I’ve eaten since my last work out – 3 plates of pasta, a calzone, hundreds of Hershey’s kisses, 3 large cookies, a taco salad, 4 pieces of pizza, a turkey burger, truffle fries, a quesadilla, a fruit cup, and a salad (gotta keep it light, yaknowwhatimean?). There’s more, but that’s all I can admit to myself.

Yesterday I realize, Good God, woman. You’ll be in Vegas in two weeks. Vegas. In two weeks. Where it’s 40 degrees warmer. This means swimsuits, skirts, skimpy tops, tight little dresses. Vegas, woman, Vegas.

Suddenly it was a little easier to schedule Trainer for this morning. Nothing makes you feel less thrilled to be fat than jiggling your way up 5 sets of staircases with a mound of muscle quietly watching you turn crimson with effort from the top. I told Trainer about Vegas in two weeks; he looked at me skeptically and offered to double up our sessions before take off. I sheepishly accepted.

So if you need me in the next two weeks, I’ll be huffing and puffing my way out of this fat suit and into a Vegas-ready shape. Oh and diet starts again… tomorrow…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 5:00 pm

    I’d hate to see how a trainer would react to me getting about….1 flight of stairs and dying.

  2. September 20, 2014 8:38 pm

    Excelllent blog post. I absolutely appreciate this site. Keeep it up!

Leave a Reply

