Skip to content

Birthday Recap: The Good Stuff

April 15, 2010

I was pretty down about my birthday last weekend. Guess I’m finally at the age where a birthday is more deserving of a dirge than a cookie cake. Although, I did get a cookie cake.

Speaking of cookie cake, I would be remiss to fail to mention the incredibly stellar birthday my friends and Love Interest E were thoughtful enough to put together for me.

8 Reasons why turning 26 actually kind of rocked:

1. A room half-full of strangers sang me Happy Birthday and then we all ate cookie cake.

2. I had two Bloody Marys at my Birthday Ladies’ Brunch and no one batted an eye. Aside from tacos and Cadbury eggs, my favorite food group is Bloody Marys.

3. I got to drink, outside, on the sidewalk, in the sunshine. And no one even made me play Bags.

4. Love Interest E surprised me with champagne, flowers and a hand written note before dinner.

5. Carnivale made me some delicious ceviche and pork and flan for dinner.

6. Love Interest E and I brought down the house with our duet to A Whole New World at a lesbian karaoke bar. Private performances available upon request.

7. I got kicked out of a gay nightclub at 5am for trying to dance on the stage and, I assume, being blatantly straight.

8. I did not get arrested. And, yes, that has happened before.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 8:14 am

    Success!

  2. April 15, 2010 10:07 am

    I believe this years birthday goes in the win column.

  3. April 15, 2010 10:32 am

    sometimes my comments section feels like a big ole bear hug.

    i heart you guys.

  4. cyrae permalink
    April 15, 2010 11:24 am

    I do have it on good authority that you’re NOT adopted …

  5. BCubed permalink
    April 15, 2010 5:14 pm

    I’m glad you’re not feeling sorry for yourself anymore! And you could look at it this way: you’re not old until you don’t care about birthdays anymore.

    • April 16, 2010 12:00 pm

      does that happen?

      • BCubed permalink
        April 16, 2010 1:54 pm

        Maybe, or maybe you just start to lack any expectations surrounding your birthday. I don’t really have any expectations, but I still look forward to my birthdays because I “age up” in my swimming competitions. Unfortunately that means that I only look forward to my birthday every 5 years! I suspect that after 50, it won’t be so exciting to age-up, so I probably won’t care about that anymore.

  6. Jaysey permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:26 pm

    Sounds pretty good when you put it that way! Loving the flowers and champagne. Sweet! Oh, and Bloody Marys = pretty awesome too!

  7. April 18, 2010 12:53 am

    OK, you were at a lesbian bar, so please tell me you sang the part of Peabo Bryson, and Love Interest E belted out a mean falsetto while doing his best Regina Belle impersonation. Because the lesbians love reversing gender roles. I’m told.

    Also, happy belated 26th. With web love and open-mouth kisses.

Leave a Reply

