Skip to content

Tables Are Turning

April 23, 2010

Remember back in the good ole days when just having a rack was enough to get a date? Doesn’t it seem like these days, the times, they are a changin’?

I think it happened at 25. Suddenly all the girls realized, Man, what have I been up to these past three years? I better get on this horse and ride. And now instead of men worrying about being shot down for a date, they have to worry about how to fit in 7 dates a week and still have time for their fantasy leagues.

Well I just don’t like this at all. This is upsetting the natural balance of gender relations that I have come to know and love.

Take Friend M for example. Friend M is straight out of a 4 year, tumultuous, manipulative relationship… yet still second guessing his decision to end it. Ladies should be running for the hills to escape this potential drama powder keg. He needs time to recover and center himself before he should be back out in the dating world.

Is this what’s happening with Friend M? No, you bet your boobs (which used to get you free drinks) it’s not. Friend M is on his 3rd first date in 2 weeks! All three of these ladies are aware of the situation and yet still, STILL they go for it and they’re sticking with it. Have men become such an in demand commodity? Have we lost our upper hand in the gender war?

So let me go on the record right here and now, because this situation can only possibly get worse with age. If we get to the point where it’s expected that I propose to a boy, I quit. You got that? Done.

I simply cannot exist in a world where I’m expected to be the pursuer. Call? Plan? Execute? Risk rejection? I’m too gentle of a fucking flower for that shit.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 7:49 am

    Okay… first things first! Full disclosure I’m a 27 year old male about 1 1/2 years out of a serious 3 year relationship.

    I think the tables are turning, and it’s a good thing. I can do it all, I’m a wizard in the kitchen (and i like to cook) 6’3″, athletic build, funny, sensitive, and I make an extremely good first impression… most of the time. When I started dating again I realized something, I deserve to be picky! I bring a lot to the table and I want a girl whose confident, smart, sexy, funny… so yes since I’ve been out of the three year relationship I’ve been on numerous dates, (the landscape for girls in Canada is bare) had a couple one night flings, but I’m holding out for something meaningful. Gone are the days of boobs getting you far… with twitter, facebook and instant access social networking… your name has become way more important than your cups size (unless its for instant gratification) because I can find out everything I want to know about you with a Google or facebook search. Social Networking and internet dating has turned everything on it’s head… so guys have access to more girls and vice versa.

    That all being said, I’d like to think if I did meet the right girl I would do all of the “Calling, Planning, and Execution at the risk rejection” but my gut tells me she’d ultimately be worth it. In the mean time… I’m enjoying the shoe being on the other foot!

    • April 23, 2010 12:02 pm

      I really enjoyed your response, Turn. I think you made an excellent point when you said that you deserve to be picky. I think that everyone, male and female, who has a lot to offer SHOULD be picky.

      I also thought that your last sentence was very telling. You know that if you met someone who was really worth it, you’d pursue her. Ladies, perhaps we should do the same? Be willing to pursue the really good ones, I mean. 😉

      (As always, girl whose blog I love but whose name I do not know, this was a great post!)

  2. April 23, 2010 8:22 am

    You go girl! Why as women do we not know our worth and choose to settle?

  3. Jaysey permalink
    April 23, 2010 9:08 am

    LMAO @ “I’m too gentle of a fucking flower for that shit.” Me, too, girl! Besides, the natural order of things is that the male pursues the female. It’s been that way for–what? Million of years? (unless you don’t believe in evolution). And that’s the way it should continue to be. The end (I rant about this all the time–I don’t think I should have to ask a guy out!)

  4. April 23, 2010 12:50 pm

    Badteacher is baaaack! Though, I’m not here to start a flame war. In fact, I randomly was reading a blog and, not only did it reference you, but there you were.

    In the case of M, I think that any woman who puts herself on the firing line like that knows what they are doing, at least subconsciously. You said he just got out of a manipulative relationship that he’s second guessing…I’m willing to bet, actual money, that all of his “dates” will turn out to be nearly carbon copies of the relationship he just exited. We live our lives in patterns. So, it’s not so much that he’s attractive to women who are well-adjusted…it’s more that he’s vulnerable to be picked off by another manipulative woman who sees this as “opportunity”.

    Things have certainly changed, but I’m pretty sure women still have the upper hand. They are, after all, in control of sex. 🙂 (I say this with the utmost playfulness)

    • April 23, 2010 12:55 pm

      Teach! So nice to see you in such a jovial mood.

      I suspect you’re on to something. M’s frantic dating may very well be a desperate search for his Ex in another body.

  5. April 23, 2010 3:02 pm

    I need to have a serious heart-to-heart with my tatas about what they never did, and what they continue to not do for me. Seriously, talk about hangers-on.

    • Adrienne permalink
      April 24, 2010 10:07 am

      I need to have this talk with mine as well!

  6. She-she permalink
    April 23, 2010 4:25 pm

    Loved the post and the last line especially!!!! 🙂

  7. April 23, 2010 6:00 pm

    first… you must add some sort of a “Share” button… because if I miss your tweet about a new blog post… I have to be clever and craft the tweet myself, lol

    Second… the last line is the funniest thing I read all day.

    Third… I completely agree.

  8. April 25, 2010 1:47 am

    Two weeks and he already has his line in the water? I’m not sure whether to be appalled or envious. Anyway, don’t be concerned – there are still plenty of guys for whom a decent set of noombies is more than adequate ( . )( . )

Trackbacks

  1. Chivalry is dying a slow and painful death « The fantastical ramblings of a chronic over-thinker

Leave a Reply

