Skip to content

Craigslist Thinks I’m Datable

June 1, 2010

Coworker J believes I’m utterly incapable of finding myself responsible, mature, emotionally available men to date.

He may be on to something.

Motivated by disgust at yet another failed relationship, Coworker J took matters into his own hands and wrote me a Craigslist personals ad.

Coworker R contributed South Park Avatars. Note the versatility in my wardrobe.

Not really the most ringing of endorsements. I wouldn’t even want to date me.

But apparently there’s something to be said for frank, unapologetic self awareness. The response to this ad has been overwhelming. They seem to like the implied challenge of successfully dating me.

Of course, there have been the shifty requests for pictures, poorly written messages expressing the author’s love of “pritty girls” and “laghing,” and the perplexing “I’m not interested” emails. But there’s also been a plethora of well-written, witty personal responses responding to certain aspects of the ad. Several have included their high school wrestling stats. Other have confessed their pop culture guilty pleasures and/or narcissistic desires to have someone blog about them. One guy described his karaoke style as a mix of William Shatner and Woody Allen. Another is a PhD student!

Well, Craigslist, color me surprised. I expected an inbox full of lurid emails and dick pics. Instead I was pleasantly surprised by a host of quirky, friendly men expressing genuine interest in a rather unflattering description of myself.

I met more than 20 men with one pic-less, overly honest, self deprecating request for former wrestlers and a Craigslist account. Well. That’s encouraging.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. jenontheroad permalink
    June 1, 2010 7:40 am

    A karaoke style that’s a mix of William Shatner and Woody Allen? Wow. Just wow.

    • June 1, 2010 7:47 am

      right? he used it as an excuse not to karaoke and i told him that it was just plain irresponsible of him to not share that gift with the world. then i told him to take a long hard look at himself.

  2. June 1, 2010 8:12 am

    hahahaha I love Craigslist. When I’m really bored, I find myself reading Missed Connections. “You were behind me in line buying guiness for your friend yeserday. You are a super hottie! Sure would have liked talk to you. Whatcha say? Wink!!! I hope you see this and if so then drop me a line!” (actual CL post). Classy. Sometimes I’m tempted to make one up just to see who thinks that my made up scenario involved them 🙂 I’m sure you’ve seen it but… if not, check out donteevenreply.com. More Craigslist fun!

  3. June 1, 2010 8:31 am

    I really, really hope this makes CL’s bestof.

  4. June 1, 2010 9:41 am

    My hope for humanity just went up a smidge with actually intelligent men replying to a Craig’s List personal ad. Of course any you meet in person that don’t live up to the hype would destroy that hope.

  5. June 1, 2010 10:20 am

    Nuts! I’m on the wrong damned continent again.

  6. June 1, 2010 11:29 am

    I tried craigslist once…. went ok. Got lots of dick pics. *That* was fun. *eye roll*. I am glad that you are getting some good ones… any dates planned?

  7. FeliciaCago permalink
    June 1, 2010 12:21 pm

    You should try posting a couple of additional banal ads and watch how the same responders will send the exact same response to each. Sick.

    Not that I’ve tried this to satisfy my intense curiosity and relentless thirst for metrics.

  8. June 1, 2010 2:05 pm

    Wow…Craigslist…who knew? Sounds about like my success rate on match.com…although with the area I live in, that probably means it really would be only dick pics and weirdos. 😉

  9. June 1, 2010 2:23 pm

    Mm, how I love Craig’s List. I’m glad you found interesting things ^^

  10. Kelly Seal permalink
    June 1, 2010 5:52 pm

    Is your co-worker single? Just curious. I’m pretty weary of Craigslist—when I was looking for a roommate it was a disaster. So good to know that you got some good responses for dating…who knew??

  11. June 1, 2010 6:38 pm

    The joys of CL! I’ve only used it for furniture and finding apartments so far… but one of my best girlfriends met her current boyfriend via CL. (They keep it on the down low and tell people they met at a BBQ…lol.) They’ve been together for over a year, and he’s awesome! So, perhaps there’s hope for love on CL?! 🙂

  12. June 1, 2010 9:05 pm

    I’d be launching into a tirade about the stalker I met on Craigslist if I hadn’t just had a second date (thanks to CL) last night in which the lovely gal said “enamored of.” And I played it cool, but in my mind I was all, “Oooh. Excellent verb and proper preposition usage. H-O-T.”

    Also, we made out. And her kisses were grammatically correct, too. And I can’t talk about this on my blog, because it’s too soon, but I can write it here and no one will see it. Right? Right?!?

  13. June 2, 2010 3:16 pm

    that’s hilarious. i bet it will make the bestof CL.

  14. Lisa permalink
    June 3, 2010 1:18 pm

    OMG NO!!! I thought the same thing too. “If CL can find me a job, a couch and an apt. then surely I can meet a great guy???!” NO! The guys seemed really normal then totally were crazy. Do yourself a favor and just pay the money for Match.com or eHarmony. Because guys who won’t pay for dating services are totally cheap guys! It’s really not safe and not a good idea. Definitely don’t do it.

  15. June 3, 2010 7:04 pm

    Wow! Who knew?

  16. Anonymous permalink
    June 4, 2010 6:10 pm

    I’m gonna try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Self-Pity Sneak Attack! « The Engagement Project

Leave a Reply

