Skip to content

Do It Differently For Once

July 28, 2010

(No, not that. You can keep doing that the same, I guess.)

I’m stuck in Atlanta on this work trip for 3 weeks. Trips like this are common in my job. I work endlessly and only leave the office to sleep. We drink at our desks at night, in lieu of the bar. There are no “weekends.” Each day, I leave after 16 hours of work and go two floors up to an empty hotel room. It’s depressing.

This time around, I want to spice it up. So I pulled the slot machine lever that is a Craigslist personal ad. It took 30 seconds to write, no pictures, no proofreading… got over 70 responses. That shit is just too easy, y’all.

I was prepared to have myself a night of awkward date conversation and polite niceties. But I walked into the bar and smack into Friend A. I haven’t seen Friend A in 4 years. Last I knew she lived in New York. But here she was right in front of me.

Now the really cool thing about running into Friend A is that she’s a producer for the Real Housewives of Atlanta. And, cooler than that, I’d inadvertently stumbled into their wrap party. Suddenly, instead of suffering through a blind date, I was hobnobbing with Bravo bigwigs. The night had taken a turn for the glamorous.

Shots flowed from the bar. The behind the scenes gossip flowed almost as readily. I chatted up cute camera men and went for a joyride in a limo. The night ended with an invitation to a gay all-nude male strip bar called Swingin’ Richards… which I politely declined. Because the glamorous part of the evening seemed to have ended.

During the mayhem, I did see someone who looked suspiciously like my date come in, look around and finally leave. Maybe I should have introduced myself, but that date invitation seemed to have gotten me to exactly where I was supposed to be. And it wasn’t with him.

Life is weird y’all. So take some chances sometimes. Maybe get PB&J instead of Turkey for once and you’ll end up in Milan by the end of the day. Probably not, but I’m just saying. Life throws twists in our plans. Go for a ride.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 7:28 am

    I am so glad you had a great time! Isn’t it wonderful when things don’t turn out how you expect, but WAY better? 😉

  2. July 29, 2010 7:39 am

    Sounds like a much better time than an awkward date with strangers. Glad you had so much fun!

  3. July 29, 2010 7:59 am

    universe is silly. BUT AWESOME.

  4. July 29, 2010 9:04 am

    Hell yeah! I love situations like this. I always want to be along for the ride! 🙂

  5. July 29, 2010 9:11 am

    I love crazy new shit! I also love PB&J!

  6. July 29, 2010 10:40 am

    Crazy where the road will take you if you just sit back and enjoy the ride.

  7. July 29, 2010 10:55 am

    “gay all-nude male strip bar called Swingin’ Richards”

    That might be the best name for a gay all nude strip bar and by might I mean it is!

    Great post…

  8. Adrienne permalink
    July 29, 2010 4:56 pm

    Most importantly: did you get to meet NeNe? She’s a riot on that show.

  9. Squishy Tushy permalink
    July 29, 2010 7:59 pm

    Do you realize that I am living my life vicariously through YOU?!

  10. July 29, 2010 10:23 pm

    Haha to Squishy Tushy. Sounds like SO much fun. I’m kind of a Real Housewives of New Jersey fanatic so it’s so cool that you went to a wrap party for the housewives of Atlanta! Hope you have a great business trip, and glad you got to blow off a little steam 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Ghost of Relationships Yet to Come « The Engagement Project

Leave a Reply

