Skip to content

My Grandma Is Totally Bitchin’

August 5, 2010

Not my Grandma, but this Grandma is bitchin' too.

The women in my family have balls, y’all.

My self confidence and my strength come from the amazing women in my life. My grandmother was college educated when that was a rarity for women. My mother was admitted to the first coed class of an Ivy League University. My stepmother managed successful career in software sales, while moonlighting as a cocktail waitress at night.

All of my female influences are strong, sassy, feminine and powerful. They make me weak in the knees.

So when I decided that I was going under the knife for this thigh reduction, I feared a backlash. You never know how opinionated feminists will take such news. So, because I’m an adult, I had my mommy tell them for me.

Here is my Grandma’s response:

Your mom told us about your pending procedure.  GOOD for you!

Now… How about I lie down on the table next to you and hope the Dr doesn’t notice and performs magic on me, too?  Yeah, that’s a long shot.  Oh well!  I’ve lost 7 #’s after my knee surgery and would love to get back to the old me.  Dreamer!!

Really, I do understand how this procedure can make you feel better.  I’ve had the problem all my life – too late now to change that, but I can believe it will give you so much appreciation for  the new YOU!

GOOD luck and we look forward to a new Bea.  The “old” Bea is special, always, however
LOVE   LOVE.

Seriously. How bitchin’ is that?

Luckily for me, all the strong, opinionated feminists in my family suffer from the same genetics. And generation gaps and cultural chasms or not, it all comes down to wanting to fit into that damned skirt.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 12:43 pm

    Wow. Congratulations!

    I really am excited for you. You’ve made me think about my own surgery desires again…

    I hope it goes great and I can’t wait to hear all about it. Particularly the part where they turn you into a milkshake. Yum?

  2. BCubed permalink
    August 5, 2010 7:12 pm

    Gotta love Grandma!

  3. August 8, 2010 3:26 pm

    Your grandma sounds pretty sweet. Just curious- how long will you be out of commission after the surgery?

    • August 8, 2010 3:32 pm

      I’ll be up and walking the next day, a few weeks till I can work out, but I have to wear my “compression garment” for 6 weeks. I bet that will be attractive.

Leave a Reply

