Skip to content

We’ve Turned A Corner!

September 21, 2010

In the last 6 weeks I’ve been all over the board with Mister Me.

I’ve run screaming from his bed in the morning, I’ve met his parents and seen his home town, I’ve texted with him all day, I’ve iced his calls for hours, I’ve missed him, I’ve dreaded him, I’ve asked him to make me pitawurst.

In the days after my surgery I was even less receptive than usual. I hate to be taken care of and with concern pouring in from friends and family, Mister Me took the brunt of my disgruntlement.

Last Sunday, I literally yelled at him about tacos. Which isn’t that surprising if you are familiar with my level of regard for tacos, but nonetheless, unacceptable.

Anyway, it’s a miracle he’s still around. But I’m glad he is, because today? I think I can finally say I’m over my freak out.

I can pinpoint the moment when it changed for me. One week after surgery Mister Me came to pick me up to have dinner at his house, a 45 minute round trip. He’d picked a recipe from my favorite diet blog, gotten a wine recommendation from his wine-buff friend and included a chocolate pairing for dessert. My favorite band of the moment was playing on the surround sound and two tickets to their upcoming concert sat at my place setting.

Under normal circumstances this overload of thoughtfulness might have inspired me to punch him in the face and use his moment of disorientation to grab the bottle of wine and make a break for the elevator.

I’m not sure if it was the pain killers or my limited mobility, but instead of staging an escape attempt I took a deep breath and waited for the freak out to come and… it just never did.

It’s as if something has switched in my brain. Now I can accept his gifts and his concern and his calls without sweaty palms and a lump in my throat. Vague references to the future and the three weddings we have on the calendar no longer make me want to change my name, hop a flight to Mexico and disappear into the commitment-free world of drug trafficking.

And it only took me six weeks to come this far. Hello, emotional maturity.

Now I bet I’ll say this today and then tomorrow I’ll change my phone number and block him on gChat. But for right this second? I’m happy. I’ve got the kind of guy I’ve been looking for; the kind that gives and loves and commits. And I’m not going to run from him. At least not today.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. jenontheroad permalink
    September 21, 2010 8:06 am

    YAY! πŸ™‚ Also, Mr. Me sounds like a super nice, thoughtful guy. I’m glad you’re allowing yourself to enjoy it (I know that can be tough — been there!). You deserve someone amazing.

  2. September 21, 2010 8:23 am

    This was wonderful to read. Learning to *accept* great love when you are so deserving of it is a beautiful thing. Mr. Me sounds like a great guy you might want to keep around for a while. πŸ™‚

  3. September 21, 2010 9:59 am

    Yay for progress!

  4. September 21, 2010 11:30 am

    Hooray! To reiterate other comments, he sounds fantastic. Good for you for letting him in and not running πŸ™‚ I want a Mister Me!

  5. September 21, 2010 12:06 pm

    So glad everything is working out. He sounds like a great guy and I’m happy you are realizing you deserve greatness in a man, not just a mediocre bum.

  6. cyrae permalink
    September 21, 2010 2:59 pm

    Must be a shock to find a guy who is creative and gives good gifts – so unexpected and rare! No doubt in time things will come back down to earth, but as long as you feel you can return the thoughtfulness without it feeling competitive, then just accept it as a flash of old-fashioned courting and a demonstration of his feelings for you!

  7. September 21, 2010 5:17 pm

    approving nod: pursed lips, slightly squinty eyes, slow head bounce.

  8. September 21, 2010 10:28 pm

    I like tacos, too. But I don’t get to have them nearly enough. I miss tacos a lot.

    Are we still talking about tacos? Hmm.

  9. September 22, 2010 8:25 am

    Tacos, planned dinner, wine, concert tickets?!?!
    Sounds like happiness comes to town.

  10. September 22, 2010 10:45 am

    I’m obviously the only one who is completely preoccupied with who your favorite band of the moment is.

    Also: Tacos? Probably my favorite food after pizza.

    I wish you the very, very best in this endeavor. And I’m glad your milkshake-turning-into went well πŸ™‚

  11. September 23, 2010 7:08 am

    Yay, I’m so glad for you! Mister Me sounds awesome… notjealous πŸ˜‰ Hope things keep going well!

  12. stineybean permalink
    September 23, 2010 9:06 pm

    dollface, you’re so adorable. I love how humorous you are.

    I agree, it is so hard to appreciate the good things, because we’ve (the royal we, as ladies who date men) have been so thoroughly and fantastically disappointed. But being Chicken Little and waiting for the other shoe to drop isn’t quite the way to go about it either, right? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

