Skip to content

Hey, I Got My New Spanx On and Suddenly Everything’s Right

September 30, 2010

Today, I changed from my compression garment to some super tight Spanx and suddenly, the sun is brighter, colors are more colory and my thighs are thinner than ever.

Curious, I measured. I’ve lost 9 pounds since surgery day and 2 inches off of each thigh. And the best part? I’m still swollen! There will be more to come!

It’s been three weeks now, and although I’m regularly scolded by Dr. Hotness for being too active, I feel almost normal.

But Dear God, I never want to go through that again. The first few days felt like, well, surgery recovery.*

I couldn’t get out of bed on my own. Walking across the hotel room was exhausting. I needed help lowering myself onto the toilet. I couldn’t take my garment off to go to the bathroom… It had a hole.

As the following days got physically easier, they simultaneously got mentally more difficult. I hated being dependent on others, I hated lying prone all day to reduce swelling, and I hated everything on TV. Consequently, I also hated Mister Me. Determined to support me in my time of need, he became the personification of my inability to care for myself. I spent a lot of that second week near tears.

But slowly, as my thighs have shrunk and my independence has grown, I’ve come to the light.

So here I am, happy with my body, excited to go shopping and proud of my shape. Which may seem like a strange time to start a diet, but that’s exactly what I’m doing.

The good news about lipo is that it removes fat cells from certain areas – once they are gone they are gone. You will now gain weight more proportionally. However, if you gain weight in general, you will gain it everywhere.

And after all this pain and several thousand dollars, I’m determined to protect this investment. So today starts The Diet and my new life as a hot chick with a commitment to health, exercise and tacos, but only in moderation.


*Big shout out to my mom who was basically my nurse, food supplier, drill sargent, pill administrator and constant companion during those first few days of misery.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 11:59 am

    Woohoo!!! I’m glad things are getting better and it will be exciting for you once all the swelling goes down and you can see the final product. Congratulations!

  2. Felicia permalink
    September 30, 2010 12:21 pm

    Start the diet tomorrow, after tonight’s skillet cookies.

  3. cyrae permalink
    September 30, 2010 12:27 pm

    Felicia has a point …

    Whoever thought spanx would be liberating?!? Bravo on your progress and cheerier outlook!

  4. September 30, 2010 12:37 pm

    happy, happy day! glad you’re feeling better, sweet girl. Xs and Os to you.

  5. September 30, 2010 1:26 pm

    Wow…that’s good to hear. I always wanted to get lipo, then got thin and didn’t think about it anymore….and then after 9 years in the US and 40 lbs heavier I am thinking about it again.
    But I am broke.

    : )

    Nice to see you feel confident again!!
    Woohoo!

  6. jessicainthenow permalink
    October 1, 2010 6:48 am

    super exciting! i’m so glad you get to hit a re-start button per-se.

    Also, i cannot imagine using the bathroom w/ anything on. ewwwww.

  7. Tarryn permalink
    October 5, 2010 6:13 am

    Yay, I’m so glad to hear that you’re doing well. Love xxx

Leave a Reply

