Skip to content

The Good Stuff

January 19, 2011

It’s been a while since I’ve given a State of My Heart address. You guys get to hear about all the kitchen messes, the mom-meet-mom anxiety and the minor friend frictions. And in the scuffle, what I’ve forgotten to mention is the good stuff. I mean that really good stuff.

Y’all, I am in love.

From the second I met him, there was something different about Mister Me. And not just his (since eradicated) affection for short-sleeved button-downs. Blech.

When I walked into our first date, I knew what I’d begun to suspect with his first email. Here he is. This is the one I want.

Admittedly, its been a long road in a few short months. After years of bad dates and flawed relationships and a lack of any real commitment, the thought that this could be it terrified me. So yeah, my nerves got to me. I manically oscillated between forcing myself to feel love and trying to fly the coup.

But it wasn’t until I just relaxed and stopped obsessing that I realized my original perception was correct. Here I have the most hilarious, thoughtful, kindhearted man I’ve ever met. And he loves me. …So I guess I owe him at least one glowing, gushy, mushy, look-how-wonderful-he-is post.

I love him because he is ridiculous and once spent an entire work day trying to hire a drinking clown to attend a friend’s bachelor party. I love him because he’s endlessly thoughtful and sent a bottle of wine to our table when my two best ladies and I had dinner in New Orleans last weekend. I love him because he is smart and controls his career and his life with a confident and steady hand. I love him because he is the reflection of everything that I’d like to see in myself. And I love him because he loves me in such an intense and unyielding way that it makes me suspect he’s managed to miss my many flaws. Joke’s on him.

So here I am. In love for the first time in many years. It’s strange to be back. But it’s a good strange.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Tarryn permalink
    January 19, 2011 9:45 am

    Aw… Love this. So happy for you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. January 19, 2011 11:53 am

    A big, fat, happy YAY for you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. loveandcoco permalink
    January 19, 2011 3:47 pm

    Yes ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. January 19, 2011 4:35 pm

    This is excellent.

    Mister Me loves you. You love Mister Me.

    But let’s get to the nitty-gritty of what really matters: Does Mister Me love your cat?

    • January 19, 2011 4:43 pm

      he’ll never admit it but yes. when i went away for the weekend, he begged for her to stay with him and then sent me pics of her all weekend.

      • dru permalink
        January 25, 2011 2:45 pm

        He is likely the one. Congratulations ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. January 19, 2011 5:21 pm

    Cheers for love. Because while it’s breath-takingly scary the way it leaves you open and vulnerable, it’s also just fucking awesome.

  6. January 19, 2011 7:22 pm

    I am sosososo excited for you! I remember when I first realized that Mr. A might be the one and it was wonderful. He sounds like a keeper and just a great guy!

  7. Tatiana permalink
    January 19, 2011 7:44 pm

    So, it’s true what they say? You just know? I am so screwed. Because I am clueless. But yaaaaaaay for You!!!

  8. January 20, 2011 12:38 am

    I’m SO happy for you Bea! You’ve found your diamond in the rough, and you deserve it. Enjoy the happiness that I know he brings you ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. BCubed permalink
    January 21, 2011 12:17 pm

    I’m so happy for you! You deserve to be happy and loved!

  10. dru permalink
    January 25, 2011 2:46 pm

    ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m really glad for you, Bea.

    And ‘gratz on the one year. Feels good, huh?

  11. riks permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:04 pm

    ladies (and sensitive men), read this while PMS-ing and listening to Brad Paisley’s “little moments.” You can’t do it without crying. I just tested it out.

  12. riks permalink
    January 26, 2011 4:56 pm

    Btw, I make a joke but Mister Me really IS that wonderful. I have said this to you before, but I’ll say it again. Knowing that there’s a real future between the two of you brings so much joy to me. He’s such a kind, hilarious, original guy that never takes you for granted, or ever will. I am ecstatic that you finally found someone you truly deserve, and on top of that, happy to know that someone so wonderful is going to be a close friend for the rest of my life as well. So much love for the both of u.

  13. February 7, 2011 9:36 pm

    Loved this post and love that things are going so well for you. Exciting to see things work out!!

Leave a comment